The legislative branch of the University of Alabama SGA is composed of a group of fifty senators from every college on campus. These senators are elected to a one year term beginning in April. At the beginning of the legislative session, the Senate elects their own leadership in the form of the Speaker of the Senate, the Secretary of the Senate, and committee chairs of the eight standing committees. Currently, the Senate is operated by Speaker Talor Allen. Senate meetings are open to the public and they occur every Thursday at 6:30 p.m. in the Ferguson Center Forum unless otherwise specified.

Speaker of the Senate – Talor Allen

Talor Allen is a Junior from Roxboro, NC majoring in Political Science and minoring in Spanish, Anthropology, and International Relations. She served her freshman year as a First Year Councilor, and as a 2017-2018 Senator she wrote and passed legislation dealing with Environmental Affairs and the reduction of straws on our campus. As an aspiring politician, she is eager to learn more about the country’s political process and make a difference at the Capstone!

Parliamentarian – Hani Razavi

Hani Razavi is a Senior from Daleville, Alabama majoring in Political Science and minoring in Civic Engagement and Leadership. His freshman year he served as an Engagement Ambassador as well as First Year Council as the Parliamentarian. Sophomore year he served as Deputy Director of Communications for the student government. Currently, he serves as SGA’s Senate parliamentarian and is also The Blackburn Institute’s Student Vice Chairman. In his spare time, Hani likes to go on hikes and reading cookbooks.

Secretary of the Senate – Sarah Boudoin