The legislative branch of the University of Alabama SGA is composed of a group of fifty senators from every college on campus. These senators are elected to a one year term beginning in April. At the beginning of the legislative session, the Senate elects their own leadership in the form of the Speaker of the Senate, the Secretary of the Senate, and committee chairs of the eight standing committees. Currently, the Senate is operated by Speaker Jack Rudder. Senate meetings are open to the public and they occur every Thursday at 6:30 p.m. in the Student Center Forum / virtually unless otherwise specified.

Jack Rudder

Speaker of Senate

Jack Rudder is a junior from Saint Louis, Missouri studying mechanical engineering. In his first year in SGA, he served as a CoE Senator and, this year, serves our SGA as the Speaker of the Senate. Apart from SGA, he is a part of SCNO and is the Recruitment Chair for Sigma Phi Epsilon Fraternity. Jack is ecstatic to lead the Senate and make the most out of this wonderful administration.

Jensyn Seay

Secretary of Senate

Hi! My name is Jensyn Seay, and I am a sophomore from
Albertville, Alabama, majoring in Political Science on the PreLaw track. I’ve had the privilege of previously leading the
Student Affairs Committee for the First Year Council, and I am
now honored to have been elected as the Secretary of the
Senate. I am genuinely excited about the opportunity to serve as
a valuable resource for both our student body and senators. I
look forward to dedicating this upcoming year to serving our
campus and collaborating to create a better UA!