

## Act A-3-23 The University of Alabama 27th Senate 2022-2023

Author(s): Julienne Pharrams, Ellie Wiltanger

Sponsors: Councilor Aydan Graham, Councilor Kyle Staus, Councilor Bree Hollis, Councilor Harrison DeLong, Councilor Cassidy Matwiyoff, Councilor Reagan Wells, Councilor Cathy Stockstill, Councilor Sarah Clevenger, Councilor Lucy Bonhaus, Councilor Sarah Mcarthur, Councilor Jensyn Seay, Councilor Katherine Gray, Councilor Anna Benetello, Councilor Kameron Prim

Endorsements: Director of Communications Claire Dubreil, Chief Justice Caleb Thome, Secretary Olivia Frazier

## An Act to Implement Meet FYC Day

Be it enacted by the Senate of the Student Government Association assembled.

WHEREAS,

Members of the First Year Council are selected by already existing members of the SGA as opposed to selected by the general UA population, and the freshman class especially, many freshmen are either unaware they have representation on campus or unfamiliar with what that representation may be. As such it is the job of the First Year Council to ensure their constituents are aware and informed of their existence and their methods of operation.

THEREFORE, be it resolved, a Meet FYC Day should be implemented during the first semester of each new school year. On this day members of FYC will table outside of the respective dorms they represent. A Bama Asks QR code will be displayed for students to scan and communicate concerns and initiatives they find imperative. Students will be able to speak with the members of FYC who represent them as well as ask them questions and voice concerns. Be it further resolved, that copies of this Resolution be sent to: Copies of this bill will be sent to Alex Howard and Nick Tolbert, Co-Directors of the First Year Council; Jack Steinmetz, Executive Vice President; Angel Narvaez-Lugo, Advisor; Collier Dobbs, Vice President for External Affairs; Luke Dille, Vice President for Student Affairs; Josie Schmitt, Executive Secretary; Bhavana Ravala, Editor-in-Chief, The Crimson White; Madeline Martin, President of SGA; and others as may be deemed necessary at a later date