

Resolution R-05-22 The University of Alabama 26th Senate 2021-2022

Authors: Senator Collier Dobbs, Senator Hope Rider

Sponsors: Senator Lauryn Parker, Senator Katie Morris, Senator Nate Fulmer, Senator Charlie Parse, Senator Taryn Geiger, Senator Charlie Crouse, Senator John Richardson, Senator Aaron Wilkes, Senator Emmett Wilson, Senator Sarah Mason Avery, Senator Benner Page, Senator Justin McCleskey, Senator Drew St. Charles, Senator Izzy Talbert, Hallie Sara Foster, Senator Sims Johnson, Senator Paige Hoss, Senator CJ Pearson, Senator Jordan Jones, Senator Andrew Bregman, Senator Grant Haidu, Senator Rebecca Rose Lutonsky, Senator Will Goodloe, Senator Ruthanne Carter, Senator Luke Schroeder, Senator Rachel Cordry, Speaker Darius Thomas, Secretary Grace Federico

Endorsements: Vice President for Student Affairs Jack Steinmetz, Vice President for Academic Affairs Amanda Allen, Vice President for Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Lauren Gilonske, Executive Secretary Colin Marcum

A RESOLUTION ENCOURAGING THE UNIVERSITY OF ALABAMA'S ACTION CARD OFFICE TO REINSTITUTE PHYSICAL ACTION CARDS

Be it enacted by the Senate of the Student Government Association assembled.

WHEREAS, the student body has expressed concern regarding the lack of accessibility in not having a physical action card;

WHEREAS, many students at the University of Alabama are hindered and or obstructed by the

barriers regarding a purely virtual action card;

WHEREAS, many students would benefit by having the accessibility of having the option to opt in for a physical action card; and

WHEREAS, it would be advantageous for the student body, residential assistants, and the action card department to have physical action cards; and

THEREFORE, be it resolved, the University of Alabama Action Card Office look into the feasibility of creating a program giving students the option to opt in to have a physical action card.

Be it further resolved, that copies of this Resolution be sent to: Dr. Stuart Bell, President of the University of Alabama; Meagan Bennett, Director of Customer Relations for the University of Alabama's OIT Department; Angel Narvaez-Lugo, Student Government Association Advisor; Jillian Fields, President of the Student Government Association; Dr. Myron Pope, Vice President for Student Life; Nathan Yamaguchi, Chief of Staff of the Student Government Association; Trinity Hunter, Chief Administrative Officer of the Student Government Association; Sid Elkins, Director of IT & Webmaster for the Student Government Association; Colin Marcum, Executive Secretary for the Student Government Association; Dehua Tian, Senior Programmer Analyst; Jeanine Brooks, Director of Action Card Department.