

## Bill B-06-21 The University of Alabama 26th Senate 2021-2022

Author: Madeline Martin, Vice President for External Affairs; Senator Luke Dille

**Sponsors:** Senator Lauryn Parker, Senator Katie Morris, Senator Cameron Doyle, Senator Collier Dobbs, Senator Rachel Cordry, Senator Taryn Geiger, Senator Charlie Crouse, Senator Sarah Mason Avery, Senator Ruthanne Carter, Senator Izzy Talbert, Senator Hallie Foster, Senator Sims Johnson, Senator Deborah Oberkor, Senator John Dodd, Senator CJ Pearson, Senator Hope Rider, Senator Jennifer Baggett, Senator Andrew Bregman, Secretary Grace Federico, Speaker Darius Thomas

**Endorsements:** Garrett Mayo, Lobby Board Director; Marcella Martinez, Lobby Board Director; Colin Marcum, Executive Secretary; Jillian Fields, President; Lauren Gilonske, Vice President of Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion; Amanda Allen, & Vice President of Academic Affairs.

## A BILL TO AMEND THE CODE OF LAWS TO CORRECT THE TITLE OF LOBBY BOARD DIRECTOR

Be it enacted by the Senate of the Student Government Association assembled.

WHEREAS, The Code of Laws must reflect the current proceedings of the Student Government Association.

WHEREAS, the Directors of Lobby Board are referred to as "Lobby Board Directors" instead of a former name "Director of Governmental Relations".

WHEREAS, the changes will be reflected below in red.

Section 2. Legislation: changes in red

## **Chapter 1200 Lobby Board**

Chapter 1200.1 Lobby Board shall be organized by one (1) or more officials in the SGA External Affairs Cabinet, hereafter to be referred to as the Director(s) of Lobby Affairs.

Chapter 1200.2 Lobby Board shall be a non-partisan group of The University of Alabama students and have the following goals:

Chapter 1200.2.1 Advocate for higher education and funding thereof alongside the Director(s) of Higher Education Day;

Chapter 1200.2.2 Ensure that The University of Alabama student body is politically involved and informed and knows how to have an impact on all levels of government.

Chapter 1200.3 Members of Lobby Board shall be selected through a process managed by the Director(s) of Governmental Relations. Director (s) of Lobby Board.

*Therefore*, be it resolved, The University of Alabama Student Government Association Attorney General, Katherine Crowe to update the Code of Laws to reflect said changes.

*Be it further resolved*, that copies of this Resolution be sent to: Dr. Stuart Bell, President of The University of Alabama; Jillian Fields, SGA President; Madeline Martin, Vice President for External Affairs; Marcella Martinez, Lobby Board Director; Garrett Mayo, Lobby Board Director; Nathan Yamaguchi, Chief of Staff; Katherine Crowe, Attorney General; & Angel Narvaez-Lugo, SGA Advisor.