

Jillian Fields

President

Sam Rickert

Executive Vice President

Amanda Allen

Vice President for Academic Affairs

Lauren Gilonske

Vice President for Diversity, Equity & Inclusion

Madeline Martin

Vice President for External Affairs

Sullivan Irvine

Vice President for Financial Affairs

Jack Steinmetz

Vice President for Student Affairs

Colin Marcum

Executive Secretary

Nathan Yamaguchi

Chief of Staff

Matthew Curl

Chief Justice

The University of Alabama 26th Student Senate 2021-2022

Agenda for August 26, 2021 Regular Session

- I. Call to Order and Roll Call
- II. Announcements
 - a. Capstone Creed and SGA Mission Statement-Hope Rider and Andrew Bregman
- III. Old Business
- IV. New Business
 - a. Confirmation of the Homecoming Executive Director
 - b. Resolution R-12-21 A RESOLUTION
 CALLING FOR A DAY OFF OF CLASSES
 ON FEDERAL ELECTION DAYS FOR ALL
 UA STUDENTS
- V. Adjourn



Resolution R-12-21 The University of Alabama 25th Senate 2020-2021

Authored By: Senator John Dodd

Sponsored By: Senator Drew St Charles, Senator Darius Thomas, Senator Lauryn Parker, Senator Cameron Doyle, Senator Nate Fulmer, Senator Rachel Cordy, Senator Chuck Parse, Senator Taryn Geiger, Senator Charlie Crouse, Senator Abby Ratliff, Senator Mary Kate Grossman, Senator Rebecca Lutonsky, Senator Alison Gaston, Senator Benner Page, Senator Mitch Azar, Senator Sarah Beth Corona, Senator Ruthanne Carter, Senator Sims Johnson, Senator Grace Federico, Senator Deborah Oberkor, Senator Luke Dille, Senator Porter O'Doherty, Senator Hope Rider, Senator Andrew Bregman, Senator Hallie Foster, Senator Jacob Gifford, Senator Henry Boyle, Senator Luke Schroeder, Senator CJ Pearson, Senator Jenna Berkower, Senator Grayson Shook, Senator Lauren Rouse

Endorsed By: Jillian Fields, President; Jack Steinmetz, Vice President for Student Affairs; Madeline Martin, Vice President for External Affairs; Amanda Allen, Vice President for Academic Affairs; Nathan Yamaguchi, Chief of Staff; Alli Awan, President of Vote Everywhere UA, Jack Kappelman, AGF Ambassador of Vote Everywhere UA

A RESOLUTION CALLING FOR A DAY OFF OF CLASSES ON FEDERAL ELECTION DAYS FOR ALL UA STUDENTS

WHEREAS, The University of Alabama strongly encourages the student body to be engaged in civic responsibilities, such as voting in national elections; and

WHEREAS, Polling place operation hours, in the state of Alabama, only allow twelve hours for Alabama citizens to vote; and

WHEREAS, A large percentage of The University of Alabama's student body reside permanently in states other than Alabama; and

WHEREAS, The availability and reliability of mail-in ballots and early absentee-ballots have been reduced in recent years across the United States; and

WHEREAS, Barriers to voting in many states prohibit students at The University of Alabama from exercising their right to vote; and

WHEREAS, The Capstone Creed states that as members of the University of Alabama we will "promote equity and inclusion; foster civic responsibility and stive for excellence in all that we do"; and

WHEREAS, Allocating time off on election day for students at The University of Alabama to vote would allow students to fulfill their promise as members of the University of Alabama and as Citizens of the United States; and

WHEREAS, The University of Alabama, by not allowing time for students, faculty, and staff to vote, prohibits members of our campus community from exercising their right to vote and encouraging civic participation; NOW

THEREFORE, **be** it *RESOLVED*, That Election Day for every Federal Election be recognized as a holiday by The University of Alabama.

Be it further resolved, That The University of Alabama commits to providing a plethora of opportunities to promote civic engagement for students to participate in on Election Day.

Be it further resolved, that copies of this resolution be to: Dr. Stuart R. Bell, President of the University of Alabama; Dr. Myron Pope, Vice President of Student Life; Tonjanita Johnson, Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic and Student Affairs, Dr. Christine Taylor, Vice President and Associate Provost for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion; Jim Dalton, Executive Vice President and Provost; Donald Elswick, Executive Director in the Director's Office; Keely Brewer, Editor-In-Chief of *The Crimson White;* Jillian Fields, President of the Student Government Association; Chapman Greer, President of Faculty Senate